How many different types of Waqf are there?​

Mufti Faraz Adam has spent almost a decade studying Islamic law. He completed his Islamic studies in the six-year Alimiyyah degree at Darul Uloom Leicester. He then went…Read More

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

There are different categorisations and taxonomies of Waqf. In relation to the different types of beneficiaries, there are four types of Waqf:

  1. The charitable Waqf (al-Waqf al-Khayri),
  2. The family Waqf (al-Waqf al-Ahli),
  3. The joint Waqf (al-Waqf al-Mushtarak) and
  4. Self-dedicated Waqf (al-Waqf ’Ala al-Nafs).

Waqf can be categorised whether it serves a private few or the public as:

  1. Public Waqf
  2. Private Waqf

Waqf can be categorised according to the underlying waqf asset. This can be categorised as:

  1. Property Waqf
  2. Corporate Waqf
  3. Cash Waqf

And Allah Alone Knows Best

Mufti Faraz Adam,

I Waqf Shariah Advisor